I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.

“I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.”
-Steven Wright

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”
-Earnest Hemingway

“Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.”
-Isaac Asimov

Ah, writing advice; I lave and hate thee.  I’ve got that urge to write, still, but I think I’m intimated by it.  It’s been so long since I’ve made a serious effort to write, that the very idea of it scares me.  Which I don’t like, cause I used to love writing.  I’m sure if I can just get going, I could get back in to it.  Starting has, unfortunately, always been the hardest part for me.

I’m horrible at first drafts.  I critique every sentence trying to get it right before I move on.  I really need to stop that.  I think the gentleman over at This Blog has it just right and I need to just let the first draft out so I can get started.  Going to make another attempt at that today.  Here’s to hoping for the best!

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.

  1. Maybe ask MeiLin and Elf how they get started? I know they often have several pieces in the works, so maybe they have ideas?

Become part of the clamor

